Run some A/B tests to find out what works, and make sure your copy is helping you to get the most out of your Amazon ads.
7. Target the Right Audience
The average Amazon ads CPC in the U.S. is $1.20 per click, however, this is very much a guideline. A CPC algorithm sells each impression to the highest bidder (other factors do enter into the equation, but the value of the bid plays a big part), so the more competition there is, the more you’re likely to pay.

The trick is to find keywords where buyer intent is highest. These might be more competitive, but, if they result in much higher conversion rates, then it’s going to offer you a better return in the long run.
Amazon Advertising Strategies: 9 Tips to Drive Sales
There are six types of Amazon ads: sponsored products, sponsored brands, display ads, stores, audio ads, and video ads. Each has its own benefits, so it’s worth exploring them more to find out which ones best fit your brand.
What are the benefits of Amazon Advertising?
With Amazon advertising, you can reach a huge audience with high purchase intent. Its tools also allow you to be extremely targeted with your ads, ensuring you reach the people who are most likely to benefit your brand.
Conclusion: The Keys to Amazon Advertising Success
Let’s take a look at some of the Amazon advertising strategies you should follow to help you drive more sales.
1. Outline Your Goals
The key takeaway from this is targeting.
Creating an Amazon ad can bring you instant results, and businesses like Empire Case, a mobile phone and tablet accessories seller, regularly see an ROI of 200+ percent.
Amazon Advertising Examples
Amazon’s algorithms are pretty smart. They’re able to understand how keywords are related and which ones might be applicable to your product. The thing is, they don’t get it right all the time.
If you’re not learning from the data you collect, then it’s difficult to move forward. What data allows you to do is run split tests. This is where you change an element of your Amazon advertising strategy and see how it performs compared to the control version.
Your copy has a direct impact on your conversion rate though, so it’s an important part of your Amazon advertising strategy.
I’ve talked about some of the benefits of Amazon ads, but how do they apply to real-world scenarios? As you’ll see from these examples, getting your Amazon advertising strategy right can have a huge impact.
Alexandra Workwear Increased Sales by 300+ percent
You’ve got to make use of all the organic tools you have available to you. That means offering top-quality images, writing great copy, and utilizing elements like fantastic content.
Lenovo Increased Brand Awareness by 19 Points
You’ll find that if you use an automatic campaign, you’ll get some clicks for keywords that just aren’t relevant to your product. When you notice these, it’s important that you add them to your negative keywords list so you don’t show up for that query in the future.
Are you using Amazon ads? If not, when are you going to start?

Do you want to be more successful with Amazon advertising?
Through A/B testing and incremental changes, you can perfect the art of Amazon advertising and make a big difference to your business.
What do you want to achieve with your Amazon advertising?
If you’re spending $1 for every click and converting 1 percent of those clicks, then you spend $100 to sell one product. On the other hand, you might pay $2 per click, but if your conversion rate is 5 percent, then $100 of ad spend is going to get you five sales.
However, the element that will ultimately decide your Amazon advertising costs is your conversion rate.
Amazon certainly isn’t the only ad platform you should consider (Google and the social media networks are also very valuable), so you’ve got to find the balance that works for you.
For example, if you’re looking to drive brand awareness, then you might choose a store, audio, or video ads campaign. However, if you’re looking to be more sales-focused, then sponsored products, brands, or display ads might be the best option.
This is further complicated by the fact that it’s hard to distinguish your brand from the competition on Amazon. When you sell products on your own e-commerce store, you’re in complete control of your branding, however, when you sell on Amazon, you’ve got to work within its regulation.
Remember, people who write down their goals are around 50 percent more likely to achieve them, so this is an important step.
2. Choose the Right Amazon Advertising Campaign
Selling products online is all about optimization.
Not only are there millions of products on Amazon and heaps of competition, but you may have products that sell cheaper than the cost you’d spend per click. Therefore, some products of yours will outperform others.
People lead busy lives. One of the reasons Amazon has become so popular is that it’s convenient.
- It gives people instant access to a huge array of products.
- It makes checkout incredibly simple.
- It offers fast delivery so people get their hands on their purchases quickly.
- People don’t have to leave their houses to buy products.
For example, you might be advertising for keywords related to tennis, and Amazon decides that Pickleball and tennis are closely related. If you get clicks for Pickleball related queries, then you’d want to add them to your negative keywords.
Amazon offers some great tools to help you target the correct audience and manage your budget, however, you’ve got to go a step further than this.
The format you choose will largely be dictated by your goals.
Start to figure out which ones are the best fit for your Amazon ads. Thankfully, the answers are going to be in your analytics.
- First, go to your Amazon Seller Central dashboard.
- Second, identify how much traffic each of your products is already receiving.
- Assess which has the highest conversion rate.
- Look at the cost of the keywords you’d want to use.
- Work out your ideal profit margin.
Yes, you want to include the right keywords, but you’ve also got to be concise and informative.
- Tell the story of your business.
- Show the benefits of your products (and not just the features).
- Build your brand identity.

This is a tricky question to answer because it varies greatly depending on your industry.
This isn’t just how many sales you want to make, or what ROAS you’d like to achieve. It starts with questions like:
- Do you want to drive brand awareness (as Lenovo did)?
- Do you want to increase traffic for your product?
- Do you want to have better conversions and increase sales?
Amazon respects the fact that people’s time is valuable, and that’s one of the reasons it’s been so successful. It’s also a key reason why Amazon ads are so beneficial for businesses.
You want to choose ones with good conversion rates that aren’t over-saturated with traffic (and therefore costly), as this is where the greatest potential lies.
5. Choose the Right Visual Assets
Don’t assume that you already know exactly who your audience is and what they want. Go the extra mile to make sure your Amazon ads are reaching exactly the right people.
Amazon Advertising Costs
Ultimately, Amazon is a search engine and, as with most search engines, your click-through rate drops considerably if you’re not in the top few results. Building this presence organically takes time though, so having an Amazon advertising strategy is a great way to gain exposure quickly.
Otherwise, you could be losing money.
9. Test + Optimize Your Ads
You want your Amazon advertising to have maximum impact, so you’ve got to choose the right products to promote.
It followed a simple strategy that brought in impressive results. They:
- Set up a “sponsored product campaign” on Amazon’s ad console.
- Used the campaign-builder to identify new keywords.
- Executed an aggressive bidding strategy to increase search impressions by 80 percent.
- Created A+ content for each product.
- Optimized product images and copy on the product page.
- Ran sponsored display ads to complement the sponsored product campaign.
- Expanded their reach and made more sales.
Book a Call